Skip to content

triple-chocolate double-cookie bars

March 6, 2011

This sounds excessive…but I can explain.

Saturday was a very rainy, dreary night out in Chicago. And still I dared attend an (all-ages) show at Congress Theater. Thank you, Girl Talk, for being more than worth it. We danced the night away, which was exhilarating, but I had a less-than-fantastic time hailing a cab in completely rain-soaked, beer-drenched (this is why I mentioned the all-ages factor. I shake my fist at you, children!) clothes. By the time I finally burst through the door back home, all I could think about was a scalding-hot shower and something comforting to eat. I only managed the former.

This means I went to bed slightly hungry, with happily sore feet and “Triple Double” still pounding in my head. Are you surprised I thought of this when I woke up?

triple-chocolate double-cookie bars

This is a spin on my favorite cookie recipe.

crust:

2 1/2  rows chocolate Joe Joes (or Oreos)
1 stick sweet cream salted butter, melted
dash of salt (be generous!)

cookie dough:

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup sweet cream salted butter, melted
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg and 1 egg yolk
1 T vanilla
1/2 cup white chocolate chips or chunks
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips or chunks
1 cup dark/bitter chocolate chips or chunks

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 13″x9″ baking pan.

In a sealed plastic bag, mash the Joe Joes until crumbly. In a medium bowl, thoroughly stir the mashed cookies with the melted butter and salt. Press cookie crust into your greased pan and bake for 10 minutes; set aside to cool slightly.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. Using an electric mixer, cream the melted butter with the sugars. Beat in the eggs and vanilla; mix well. Gradually beat in the flour mixture. Finally, fold in the chocolate chips/chunks by hand.

Spread the cookie dough evenly onto the pre-baked cookie crust. Bake for 25-30 minutes. (You’ll really have to watch this, depending on your oven. Try 25 first, and then add extra time as necessary. Mine took just under 30 minutes.)

And I highly recommend Girl Talk in the kitchen.

From → eats

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. trader joe is my boyfriend « the bardsley projects

Leave a Reply

